It is in Bennwihr, a village located in the heart of the Alsatian vineyard, on the Alsace Wine Route between Kaysersberg and Ribeauvillé that the Domaine Michel Fonné is located.  

The oldest designations of the village date back to the year 777 under the name of Bebonisvillare. However, the origins go back to the time of the Romans with in particular the construction of the Roman road which still exists today.
A territory shared between France and Germany for hundreds of years, Alsace is a region with bicultural people: Charlemagne's Frankish Empire, conquest of Louis XIV, annexation to Germany with the Treaty of Frankfurt. At the end of the Second World War, the liberation of Alsace was the scene of violent, murderous fighting resulting in the death of hundreds of people and the complete destruction of some villages. It is completely in ruins that Bennwihr is liberated on December 24, 1944 by the Americans..

unnamed (1).gif
unnamed (2).gif
unnamed.gif

Even today, the Germanic culture and traditions are still very much ingrained; the Alsatian dialect is close to the German language, the names of the villages, the gastronomy ....

It was after the war that Michel's great-uncle, Barth René planted the first Pinot Noir vines in the village that came straight from Burgundy. It is cultivated in the same way as the 6 Alsatian white grape varieties.

F-Image-09.jpg
DSC_0965.JPG
DSC_0955.JPG

C’est à Bennwihr, village situé au cœur du vignoble alsacien, sur la Route des Vins d’Alsace entre Kaysersberg et Ribeauvillé que se trouve le Domaine Michel Fonné.  

Les plus anciennes désignations du village remontent à l’an 777 sous le nom de Bebonisvillare. Toutefois les origines remontent à l’époque des Romains avec notamment la construction de la voie romaine qui existe d’ailleurs encore aujourd’hui.

Territoire partagé entre la France et l’Allemagne depuis des centaines d’années, l’Alsace est une région au peuple bicultural : Empire franc de Charlemagne, conquête de Louis XIV, annexion à l’Allemagne avec le traité de Francfort. A la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale, la libération de l’Alsace est le siège de combats violents, meurtriers entrainant la mort de centaines de personnes et la destruction complète de certains villages. C’est complètement en ruine que Bennwihr est libéré le 24 Décembre 1944 par les américains. 

unnamed (1).gif
unnamed (2).gif
unnamed.gif

Aujourd’hui encore, la culture et les traditions germaniques sont très ancrées ; le dialecte alsacien est proche de la langue allemande, le nom des villages, la gastronomie ….

C’est après la guerre que le grand-oncle de Michel, Barth René a planté dans le village les premiers pieds de Pinot Noir venus tout droit de Bourgogne. Il est cultivé au même titre que les 6 cépages blancs alsaciens.