The work of the vine extends over the whole year and begins after the harvest, as soon as the leaves fall. Carried out during the vegetative rest of the vine, double Guyot pruning consists in leaving two sticks (which will carry the following year's harvest) on each vine stock. These will then be attached in the form of an arch; the arching favours the homogeneous development of all the buds.


It is in April, with the increase in temperature, that the vine will start to wake up slowly. The buds will swell and later on leaves will appear, followed by the appearance of the future bunches of grapes. The green work then begins: budding which consists in removing unwanted buds (double or triple budding) as well as de-budding to remove the "greedy" shoots coming directly from the vine stock or rootstock.


During this period, the vine grows at a glance: the shoots quickly reach the first wire and then the second. At this time, it is advisable to weave the vegetation through the wires so that the branches do not fall; manual trellising also allows the foliage to be aired. 

received_379421923250993.jpeg
VIGNES GELEES 2.JPG
20200518_145834.jpg

The soil has been worked mechanically for about ten years. We practice a natural grassing every other row, letting the natural flora take root. This diversified plant cover, specific to each plot, is very important to retain water.


Throughout the summer, the bunches grow until they reach their final size. The veraison process will then begin: the green bunches change color (purple for the Pinot Gris, pink for the Gewurztraminer, yellow for the Riesling). In the grapes, the sugar content is constantly increasing making the acid concentration decrease. 

Respect for the environment has been at the heart of the estate's development in recent years. For this reason, we have been converting to Organic Agriculture (AB) for the past two years and were Terra Vitis certified in previous years.

_PHI4644.jpg
20200704_084636.jpg
20200707_103032.jpg
20200519_160115.jpg
IMG-20200608-WA0003.jpg
_PHI4759_edited.jpg
20200910_153328_edited.jpg

Le travail de la vigne s’étend sur toute l’année et commence après les vendanges, dès la chute des feuilles. Réalisée pendant le repos végétatif de la vigne, la taille en Guyot double, consiste à laisser deux baguettes (qui vont porter la récolte de l’année suivante) sur chaque cep. Celles-ci vont par la suite être attachées en forme d’arc; l’arquage favorise le développement homogène de l’ensemble des bourgeons.

C’est au mois d’Avril, avec l’augmentation des températures, que la vigne va commencer a se réveiller doucement. Les bourgeons vont gonfler, laissant apparaître plus tard des feuilles puis une ébauche des futures grappes. Les travaux en vert commencent alors : l’ébourgeonnage qui consiste à éliminer les bourgeons indésirables (double ou triple bourre) ainsi que l’épamprage pour enlever les « gourmands », les pousses issues du cep ou du porte-greffe directement.

Pendant cette période, la vigne pousse à vue d’oeil : les rameaux atteignent rapidement le premier fils puis le second. A ce moment, il convient de tresser la végétation à travers les fils pour que les branches ne tombent pas; le palissage manuel permet également d’aérer le feuillage.

Le travail du sol est réalisé depuis une dizaine d’année de manière mécanique. Nous pratiquons un enherbement naturel un rang sur deux laissant s’implanter la flore naturelle. Ce couvert végétal diversifié et spécifique à chaque parcelle est très important pour retenir l’eau.

 

Tout au long de l’été, les grappes grossissent jusqu’à atteindre leur taille définitive. Le processus de véraison va alors commencer : les grappes vertes changent de couleur (violet pour le Pinot Gris, rose pour le Gewurztraminer, jaune pour le Riesling). Dans le raisin, la teneur en sucre ne cesse de progresser faisant reculer la concentration en acide.  Ce n’est qu’une fois l’équilibre subtil de la maturité atteint entre les sucres, les acides, les arômes et les tanins que nous décidons de récolter les raisins.

Le respect de l’environnement est au cœur du développement du domaine depuis quelques années. Nous sommes pour cela en conversion vers l’Agriculture Biologique (AB) depuis deux ans et étions les années précédentes certifiés Terra Vitis.