WHITE WINES

F-Image-18.jpg

The grapes are harvested once we consider that maturity has been reached: balance between sugar and total acidity (and concentration of aromas also for aromatic grape varieties). The harvest is manual with great attention paid to sorting. The harvest is stored in containers until it arrives at the estate where the grapes are put in the press.

_PHI5732.jpg
_PHI5793.jpg
_PHI5705.jpg

For some years now, we have been working with a pneumatic membrane press which allows us to extract the juice very delicately; the pressure is low and the cycle lasts several hours.
Throughout the pressing process, the must is regularly pumped and sent to one of our stainless steel tanks at a low temperature (around 10°C). After 48 hours, we carry out the settling; this consists in removing the biggest residues and deposits.

 

This is when the yeasts naturally present in the grapes will degrade the sugars by transforming them into alcohol: the alcoholic fermentation begins! This stage, which is the most important during the winemaking process, takes only a few days for some wines or a few months for others. The duration is specific to each harvest, each vat, each plot, each grape variety.

Some white wines can also undergo malolactic fermentation naturally and spontaneously. The transformation of malic acid into lactic acid results in a wine with less acidity and more roundness.
 

As soon as the fermentation is finished, we carry out racking (which consists in removing the residues of the fermentation, especially dead yeasts) and followed by sulphiting (for protection).


Maturing can then begin; for several months, the fine particles suspended in the wine gently settle at the bottom of the tank forming the lees. The character, colors and expression of the wine assert themselves during this stage. Our Grands Crus and Vendanges Tardives are aged in wooden tuns.

_PHI1539.jpg
_PHI4517.jpg
_PHI4504.jpg
_PHI4578.jpg

 

The wines are stabilized and clarified before bottling by filtration. The lees are removed, impurities extracted; a final analysis is carried out to ensure the analytical characteristics.
After all this process, the wine is ready for us to bottle it!

Some small clarifications on the sweetness of the wines!
A wine that is dry (containing less than 4g/L of residual sugar) is a wine that is completely fermented, i.e. all the sugars have been broken down into alcohol.
On the contrary, in a semi-dry, semi-sweet or sweet wine that still contains residual sugars, the fermentation is not complete (this can be voluntary or natural).

 

RED WINES

20200910_153328_edited.jpg

The vinification of Pinot Noir differs from that of the white grape varieties as soon as the harvest is finished. Indeed, the grapes are not pressed when they arrive in the winery. A maceration is necessary beforehand to extract in particular the color of the skin (the juice of Pinot Noir is white, it is only on contact with the skin that it changes its color) but also other molecules contained in the berry. 

Grapes are crushed (release of juice by puncturing the berries) and partially de-stemmed (removal of stalks from the bunch). These two operations have very precise objectives:

Destemming improves the extraction of tannins and increases the color intensity of the must.

​• The crushing facilitates maceration and promotes contact between the juice and the solid particles.

Maceration is carried out simultaneously with the alcoholic fermentation, generally over fourteen days; the duration is determined by tasting and analytical results. The wine is then pressed and malolactic fermentation begins.

_PHI1601.jpg

As soon as the fermentation is finished, we carry out a racking (which consists in removing the residues of the fermentation, especially dead yeasts...) and followed by a sulphiting (for protection).

Maturing can then begin; for several months, the fine particles suspended in the wine gently settle at the bottom of the tank forming the lees. The character, colors and expression of the wine assert themselves during this stage.

The wines are stabilized and clarified before bottling by filtration. The lees are removed, impurities extracted; a final analysis is carried out to ensure the analytical characteristics.
After all this process, the wine is ready for us to bottle it!

_PHI4517.jpg
_PHI4504.jpg
_PHI4578.jpg
 

CREMANTS

Sparkling sparkling wine elaborated using the traditional method, Crémant is different from a white wine at bottling. Indeed, a mixture of yeasts and sugars, called liqueur de tirage, is added to the wine at this time.

The famous "prise de mousse" corresponds to the consumption of sugars by the yeasts to form carbon dioxide and ethanol; in other words, a second alcoholic fermentation, this time in the bottle..

The bottles are hermetically sealed and stored in a horizontal position "on slats" for a minimum period of 12 months. This period "on slats" is decisive for the quality of the product: the longer the wine is in contact with the yeasts, the more complex, subtle and refined the aromas will be.

 

At the end of this aging period and before marketing, the yeasts are removed and form a deposit in the bottle. For this, a process that lasts several days will allow the bottles to pass from the horizontal position to the vertical position, the so-called "on tip" position; the deposit is then in the neck of the bottle.

The second step is to place the neck in a freezer tray to form an ice cube. The bottles are then put back in place, decapped and freed from the yeasts caught in the ice cube. The levelling of the volume is done with the liqueur d'expédition, signature of the winemaker, which is a subtle mix between sugar and wine. The bottle is finally corked and then muzzled, which prevents the cork from jumping under the effect of pressure.

Les VINS blancs

Le raisin est récolté une fois que nous estimons que la maturité est atteinte : équilibre entre sucre et acidité totale (et concentration en arômes également pour les cépages aromatiques). La cueillette est manuelle avec une grande attention portée au tri. La récolte est stockée dans des comportes jusqu’à son arrivée au domaine où l’on va mettre les raisins en pressoir. 

Depuis quelques années, nous travaillons avec un pressoir pneumatique à membrane qui permet d’extraire très délicatement les jus ; la pression est faible, le cycle dure plusieurs heures.

Tout au long du pressurage, le moût est régulièrement pompé et envoyé dans une de nos cuves inox à température faible (autour de 10°C). Après 48h, nous opérons le débourbage ; cela consiste à ôter les plus gros résidus et dépôts.

C’est alors que les levures naturellement présentes dans le raisin vont dégrader les sucres en les transformant en alcool : la fermentation alcoolique commence! Cette étape qui est la plus importante pendant la vinification s’effectue sur quelques jours seulement pour certains vins ou sur quelques mois pour d’autres. La durée est propre à chaque récolte, chaque cuve, chaque parcelle, chaque cépage.

Certains vins blancs peuvent également faire une fermentation malo-lactique de manière naturelle et spontanée. La transformation de l’acide malique en acide lactique se traduit dans un vin par une acidité moins prononcée et plus de rondeur.

Dès que la fermentation est terminée, nous pratiquons un soutirage (ce qui consiste à éliminer les résidus de la fermentation notamment les levures mortes…) et suivi par un sulfitage (pour la protection).


L’élevage peut alors commencer ; pendant plusieurs mois, les fines particules en suspension dans le vin se déposent doucement au fond de la cuve formant les lies. Le caractère, les couleurs et l’expression du vin s’affirment durant cette étape. Nos Grands Crus et Vendanges Tardives font leur élevage dans des foudres en bois.

Les vins sont stabilisés et clarifiés avant la mise en bouteille par une filtration. Les lies sont retirées, les impuretés extraites ; une dernière analyse est réalisée pour s’assurer des caractéristiques analytiques.
Après tout ce processus, le vin est prêt pour que nous le mettions en bouteille !

Quelques petits éclaircissements sur la sucrosité des vins!
Un vin est sec (qui contient moins de 4g/L de sucre résiduel) est un vin dont la fermentation est complète, c’est-à-dire que tous les sucres ont été dégradés en alcool.
Au contraire, dans un vin demi-sec, demi-doux ou doux qui présente encore des sucres résiduels, la fermentation n’est pas complète (cela peut être volontaire ou naturel).

 

LES VINS ROUGES

La vinification du Pinot Noir diffère de celles des cépages blancs dès la récolte terminée. En effet, les raisins ne sont pas pressés à leur arrivée en cuverie. Une macération est préalablement nécessaire pour extraire notamment la couleur de la pellicule (le jus du Pinot Noir est blanc, ce n’est qu’au contact de la pellicule que celui-ci change sa couleur) mais également d’autres molécules contenues dans la baie. 

Les raisins sont foulés (libération du jus par une perforation des baies) et partiellement égrappés (élimination des rafles de la grappe). Ces deux opérations ont des objectifs très précis :
• l’égrappage permet d’améliorer l’extraction des tanins et d’augmenter l’intensité colorante du moût
• le foulage facilite la macération et favorise le contact entre le jus et les particules solides

La macération s’effectue simultanément avec la fermentation alcoolique, généralement sur quatorze jours ; durée qui est déterminée par la dégustation et les résultats analytiques. Le vin est alors presséet la fermentation malo-lactique commence.

Dès que la fermentation est terminée, nous pratiquons un soutirage (ce qui consiste à éliminer les résidus de la fermentation notamment les levures mortes…) et suivi par un sulfitage (pour la protection).

L’élevage peut alors commencer ; pendant plusieurs mois, les fines particules en suspension dans le vin se déposent doucement au fond de la cuve formant les lies. Le caractère, les couleurs et l’expression du vin s’affirment durant cette étape.

Les vins sont stabilisés et clarifiés avant la mise en bouteille par une filtration. Les lies sont retirées, les impuretés extraites ; une dernière analyse est réalisée pour s’assurer des caractéristiques analytiques.
Après tout ce processus, le vin est prêt pour que nous le mettions en bouteille !

 

LES CREMANTS

Vin effervescent mousseux élaboré à partir de la méthode traditionnelle, le Crémant se distingue d’un vin blanc à la mise en bouteille. En effet, on ajoute au vin à ce moment là, un mélange composé de levures et de sucres, appelé liqueur de tirage.

La fameuse « prise de mousse » correspond à la consommation des sucres par les levures pour former du gaz carbonique et de l’éthanol ; autrement dit, une seconde fermentation alcoolique, en bouteille cette fois.

Les bouteilles sont hermétiquement fermées et stockées en position horizontale « sur lattes » pendant une durée minimale de 12 mois. Cette période « sur lattes » est décisive sur la qualité du produit : plus longtemps le vin est au contact des levures, plus les arômes seront complexes, subtiles et raffinés.

Au terme de cette période de vieillissement et avant la commercialisation, on retire les levures qui forment un dépôt dans la bouteille. Pour cela, un processus qui dure plusieurs jours va permettre de passer les bouteilles de la position horizontale à la position verticale, position dite « sur pointe » ; le dépôt est alors dans le goulot de la bouteille.

La seconde étape consiste à placer le goulot dans un bac de congélation pour former un glaçon. Les bouteilles sont ensuite remises à l’endroit, décapsulées et libérées des levures prises dans le glaçon. La mise à niveau du volume est faite avec la liqueur d’expédition, signature du Vigneron, qui est un mélange subtil entre sucre et vin. La bouteille est enfin bouchonnée puis muselée ce qui empêche le bouchon de sauter sous l’effet de la pression.