Located at the foot of the Vosges, the Alsatian vineyard is made up of a mosaic of terroirs, each giving a particular color to the grape variety that grows there. The particularity of our climate is due to the geographical position of the region: the Black Forest to the east, the Vosges to the west. The landscape is composed of a succession of hills between 200 and 400m of altitude. The natural barrier of the Vosges protects the vineyard and contributes to the particular climate of Alsace.

 

OUR lieux-dits

For the past few years, we have been working on 3 different locations: Rebgarten, Roemerberg and Vogelgarten. 

_PHI4644.jpg

The Rebgarten (Garden of Grapes, translation from German) is a small vineyard located in the commune of Bennwihr. Mainly made of granitic sand, the vines are south-facing which allows them to benefit from a favorable sunshine. In this area, we only plant Riesling, the grape variety that best expresses the mineral dimension of the terroir.

The Hill of the Romans, the Roemerberg of its name, is also a locality belonging to the village of Bennwihr. Facing east & south-east, the clay-limestone soil is ideal for Gewürztraminer and Pinot Gris.

Located on the heights of Sigolsheim, the Vogelgarten (Bird Garden) is a sandstone limestone soil. Facing due south, this area benefits from an optimal period of sunshine which translates in our Gewürztraminer by a beautiful roundness.

 

OUR GRANDS crus

Since 1975, Alsace has also listed fifty-one Grands Crus, which differ by their privileged terroir, a particular geology, a specific climate as well as a unique exposure; all forming an exceptional agreement. 

Facing due south on the heights of Sigolsheim, the Grand Cru Mambourg represents a surface area of 61.85 hectares. This terroir benefits from an optimal sunshine duration with a calci-magnesic type soil. The Mambourg vintages are very typical, of a beautiful concentration carried on the roundness and of long guard.

 

The Grand Cru Mandelberg (the Hill of the Almond Trees), shelters the village of Mittelwihr from the north winds. This terroir of 22ha is south & south-west facing on a marly-limestone soil. The presence of almond trees, rare shrubs at this latitude, testifies to the very favorable climate that reigns there. Planted in Riesling, the wines develop a pronounced fruitiness and an exquisite finesse.  

To the south of the village of Bennwihr, the Grand Cru Marckrain lies on the wine road on a surface of 53.35 ha. Gewürztraminer and Pinot Gris are mainly planted there, taking advantage of the east & south-east exposure on a marl-limestone soil. In the bottle, we find the typical acidity of the terroir associated with a developed expression of the aromas.

The Grand Cru Schlossberg is located on the heights of Kientzheim and lies at an altitude of 200 to 300m. On a steep slope, this terroir requires terrace cultivation. The exposure to the sun is south-facing and the soil is granitic. The 80.28ha are mainly planted with Riesling. The wines produced on these acidic terroirs are always very expressive in their youth

_PHI4700.jpg
_PHI4648.jpg
_PHI4799.jpg
20200406_111134_edited.jpg

Situé au pied des Vosges, le vignoble alsacien est constitué d’une mosaïque de terroirs donnant chacun une couleur particulière au cépage qui y pousse. La particularité de notre climat est dû à la position géographique de la région : la Forêt Noire à l’est, les Vosges à l’Ouest. Le paysage est composé d’une succession de collines entre 200 et 400m d’altitude. La barrière naturelle des Vosges protège le vignoble et contribue au climat particulier de l’Alsace. 

 

nos lieux-dits

Depuis quelques années, nous travaillons sur 3 Lieux-Dits différents : Rebgarten, Roemerberg et Vogelgarten. 

Le Rebgarten (Jardin des Raisins, traduction de l’allemand) est un petit vignoble situé  sur la commune de Bennwihr. Essentiellement constitué de sable granitique, les vignes sont orientées plein sud ce qui leur permet de bénéficier d’un ensoleillement favorable. Sur ce lieu-dit, nous plantons uniquement du Riesling ; cépage qui exprime le mieux la dimension minérale du terroir.

La Colline des Romains, le Roemerberg de son nom, est également un lieu-dit appartenant au village de Bennwihr. Orienté est & sud-est, le sol argilo-calcaire est idéal pour le Gewürztraminer et le Pinot Gris.

Se trouvant sur les hauteurs de Sigolsheim, le Vogelgarten (Jardin des Oiseaux) est un terroir de type calcaire gréseux. Exposé plein sud, ce lieu-dit bénéficie d’une durée d’ensoleillement optimale qui se traduit dans nos Gewürztraminer par une belle rondeur.

 

NOS GRANDS crus

L’Alsace répertorie également depuis 1975, cinquante-et-un Grands Crus, qui se différencient de par leur terroir privilégié, une géologie particulière, un climat spécifique ainsi qu’une exposition unique ; le tout formant un accord exceptionnel. 

Exposé plein sud sur les hauteurs de Sigolsheim, le Grand Cru Mambourg représente une surface de 61,85ha. Ce terroir profite d’une durée d’ensoleillement optimale avec un sol de type calci-magnésique. Les crus du Mambourg sont très typés, d’une belle concentration portée sur la rondeur et de longue garde.

 

Le Grand Cru Mandelberg (la Colline des Amandiers), abrite le village de Mittelwihr des vents du nord. Ce terroir de 22ha est orienté sud & sud-ouest sur un sol marno-calcaire. La présence des amandiers, arbustres rares à cette latitude, témoigne du climat très favorable qui y règne. Planté en Riesling, les vins développent un fruité prononcé et une finesse exquise.  

Au sud du village de Bennwihr, le Grand Cru Marckrain s’appuie sur la route des vins sur une surface de 53,35ha. Le Gewürztraminer et le Pinot Gris y sont majoritairement plantés, profitant de l’exposition est & sud-est sur un sol marne-calcaire. Dans la bouteille, on retrouve l’acidité typique du terroir associée à une expression développée des arômes.

Le Grand Cru Schlossberg se situe sur les hauteurs de Kientzheim et repose à une altitude de 200 à 300m de hauteur. En forte pente, ce terroir nécessite une culture en terrasse. L’exposition au soleil est plein sud et le sol est de type granitique. Les 80,28ha sont majoritairement plantés en Riesling. Les vins produits sur ces terroirs acides sont toujours très expressifs dans leur jeunesse.